Skip to main content

This 14-minister government, overseeing 18 ministries, succeeds Ariel Henry’s administration, which led Haiti following President Jovenel Moïse’s assassination in July 2021.

By Juhakenson Blaise, The Haitian Times —

Haiti’s government published Tuesday the decree officially naming the ministers forming Prime Minister Garry Conille’s cabinet. As reported by local media at the end of last week, all 18 ministries are kept according to the norm. However, only 14 ministers, including Conille himself, have been appointed to lead Haiti through the transition period expected to end on February 7, 2026.

According to the decree published in the state paper Journal Le Moniteur and signed by the Transitional Council (TPC) President Edgard Garry Leblanc Fils and Prime Minister Garry Conille, the transition government’s ministry cabinet includes four women. With 14 ministers, this is close but under the 30% benchmark established by the 2012 constitutional amendment (Art. 17-1) on women’s inclusion.

Among other crucial issues, the new government is tasked with combating the insecurity caused by gang violence, revising the Haitian constitution and organizing general elections in 2025 to put the country back on the path of democracy.

After several meetings, the TPC members and Prime Minister Conille agreed on 13 names to accompany him in Haiti’s new government. The ministry cabinet mainly comprises personalities who previously served in past administrations.

For Leblanc Fils, the discussions and negotiations, particularly those concluded on Monday with PM Garry Conille, were very fruitful and have allowed them to reach a final agreement on the composition of the transition government.

The new government’s installation is scheduled for this Wednesday afternoon, June 12, at the prime minister’s official residence—Villa d’Acueil in Musseau, Port-au-Prince— a few miles northeast of the National Palace. This is the remaining step in establishing the new regime, which will carry out the projects that await the new officials during the transitional period.

The following are the 14 ministers of Conille’s government in alphabetical order:

  • Antoine Augustin occupies the portfolio of two merged ministers: the Ministry of National Education and Professional Training (MENFP) and the Ministry of Culture and Communication (MCC).
  • Brignol Georges Fils takes charge of the Ministry of Public Health and Population (MSPP).
  • Lawyer Carlos Hercule heads the Minister of Justice and Public Security (MJSP).
  • Dominique Dupuy, the Haitian Ambassador to UNESCO, has been appointed head of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Religious Affairs (MAEC) and the Ministry of Haitians Living Abroad (MHVE).
  • Franck Wilbert Georges, a human rights activist, is the new Minister of Social Affairs and Labor (MAST).
  • Garry Conille, Prime Minister, holds the Ministry of Interior and Local Authorities (MICT).
  • James Monazard will administer two merged ministers: the Ministry of the Environment (ME) and the Ministry of Tourism (MT).
  • Jean Marc Bernier Antoine is the new Minister of Defense (MD).
  • Ketleen Forestal takes the reins of the Ministry of Economy and Finance (MEF) and the Ministry of Planning and External Cooperation (MPCE), which are merged under one minister.
  • Marie Françoise Suzan is appointed Minister for the Status and Rights of Women (MCFDF).
  • Moïse Jean-Pierre replaces James Cadet as the Ministry of Environment (ME)’s head.
  • Niola Lynn Sarah Devalis Octavius, Minister of Youth, Sports and Civic Action (MJSAC).
  • Raphaël Hosty is appointed Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communication (MPTC).
  • Vernet Joseph occupies the Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Rural Development (MARNDR) portfolio.

Source: The Haitian Times
Featured image: Garry Conille


IBW21 (The Institute of the Black World 21st Century) is committed to enhancing the capacity of Black communities in the U.S. and globally to achieve cultural, social, economic and political equality and an enhanced quality of life for all marginalized people.