July 30, 2020 — Clergy Conversation with Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee. Why We Can’t Wait! H.R. 40 and Reparations!

By July 28, 2020Events, NAARC Posts
July 30, 2020 — Why We Can't Wait! Report from the Hill: H.R.40 and Reparations

Join us for a clergy update and engaging conversation with REP. SHEILA JACKSON LEE (D-TX), chief sponsor of H.R.40.

This bill establishes the Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African-Americans. The commission shall examine slavery and discrimination in the colonies and the United States from 1619 to the present and recommend appropriate remedies. Among other requirements, the commission shall identify (1) the role of federal and state governments in supporting the institution of slavery, (2) forms of discrimination in public and private sectors against freed slaves and their descendants, and (3) lingering negative effects of slavery on living African-Americans and society.
(src. https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/40/)

This event is sponsored by the National African American Reparations Commission, the Samuel DeWitt Proctor Conference, the Black Church PAC, and the National Council of Churches.

8:00pm Eastern, 7:00pm Central, 5:00pm Pacific

Jul 30, 2020 07:00 PM in Central Time (US and Canada)

Register Now
IBW21

About IBW21

IBW21 (The Institute of the Black World 21st Century) is committed to building the capacity of Black communities in the U.S. to work for the social, political, economic and cultural upliftment, the development of the global Black community and an enhanced quality of life for all marginalized people.